Hornets to take part in Orlando Summer League this July

Yesterday afternoon, the Charlotte Hornets announced that they have been selected to participate in the 2016 Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League, which is scheduled to take place from July 2-8 at the Orlando Magic’s practice court.

After the team wraps up it’s mini-camp in Charlotte, they will head down to Orlando to play in five games over seven days in the Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League.  Joining the Hornets in this year’s Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer Leagues games are:

  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • New York Knicks
  • Miami Heat
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Orlando Magic(two teams)

Charlotte will open up play on Saturday, July 2nd at 11 a.m. against the Orlando Magic’s white team, and on Sunday, July 3rd at 1:00 p.m., the Hornets will take on the Indiana Pacers. Other match-ups that the Hornets will have on the schedule will include the Oklahoma City Thunder(Monday, July 4th at 5:00 p.m.), and the Dallas Mavericks(Wednesday, July 6th at 3:00 p.m.).  The fifth opponent that the Hornets will face will be determined by the standings after the first four games and will take place on July 8th.

Each team will play five games over the seven-day event, with a championship game taking place on the final day of the league.  A point system will be in place to help establish the standing in the run-up to the final day, with eight points awarded each game based on the following criteria:

  • Four points for winning a game
  • One point for winning a quarter
  • In an event of a tied quarter, each team will receive 0.5 points.

In an event of ties in seeding heading into championship day three tiebreakers will be in place:

  1. Total Point Differential
  2. Total Points Allowed
  3. Coin Flip

2016 Hornets Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League schedule

Saturday, July 2nd: Orlando Magic-White(11:00 a.m.)

Sunday, July 3rd: Indiana Pacers(1:00 p.m.)

Monday, July 4th: Oklahoma City Thunder(5:00 p.m.)

Wednesday, July 6th: Dallas Mavericks(3:00 p.m.)

Friday, July 8th: TBD